Celebrated member of the 1950s and 60s French New Wave, alongside filmmakers Truffaut, Rohmer, Godard, Demy, Varda, Bazin and Rivette, prolific auteur Claude Chabrol not only produced a highly regarded body of work but established the classic cinematic sobriquet as the ‘French Hitchcock’.
Inspired by the master of suspense, Alfred Hitchcock – Chabrol’s genre of choice was thriller and his distanced objectivity helped him create some of the most intense and chilling films in French history.
The Chabrol Collection - Volume 1 delves deep into the darker recesses of psychological horror and suspense, showcasing four of Chabrol's classic films: The Bad Girls (Les Biches) (1968) - a classic ménage à trois with tragic consequences, The Unfaithful Wife (La Femme infidèle) (1968) - a sordid tale of one man's decent into marital despair, This Man Must Die (Que la bête meure) (1969) - an obsessed father uncovers the truth behind his son's death, and The Butcher (Les Boucher) (1970) - smalltown suspicions cast a striking shadow when a number of women fall victim to an unknown murderer.
Also included is The Life and Work of Claude Chabrol (Grand manège) (2006) (52 mins.) A thoroughly researched documentary on Chabrol,  exploring the creative process and the great artistic passions of one of the masters of cinema.

Extra Features

  • -


  • Jean- Louis Trintignant
  • Stephane Audran


  • Claude Chabrol
  • No. discs 5
  • Running time 441 min
  • Audio format Mono
  • Region 4
  • Format PAL
  • Color COLOUR
  • Language French
  • Catalogue No. DAVID2784
  • Aspect ratio 16:9 & 4:3
  • Subtitles English
  • M

Customers who bought this product also bought: