“If you make something that is so magical, so unique you will pay the price…it’s the Devil’s bargain.” Lydia Lunch

Rowland S. Howard appeared on the Melbourne punk scene, a phantom from Kafkaesque Prague, an otherworldly aristocrat. The demonic fury of his guitar shot him directly into the imagination of a generation. Behind the enigmatic man was an artful persona, a sardonic wit and a gut wrenching lyricist.

His signature sound catalysed ‘The Boys Next Door’ into the epic ‘The Birthday Party’, the seminal band of the post punk era. With ‘These Immortal Souls’ and collaborations alongside Lydia Lunch, Nikki Sudden, his striking solo work Teenage Snuff Film and Pop Crimes, he produced a number of qualified cult classic songs.

Known and loved for the timeless raw truth, beauty and wit of his words and sound, in an age of makeovers, Rowland S. Howard never ‘sold out’.

Containing a selection of rare footage and moving interviews with Rowland S. Howard, Nick Cave, Wim Wenders, Mick Harvey, Lydia Lunch, Henry Rollins, Thurston Moore, Bobby Gillespie, and Adalita, AUTOLUMINESCENT traces the life of Roland S. Howard, as words and images etch light into what has always been ‘the mysterious dark’.

Extra Features

  • Including music videos, personal anecdotes, disclosures, dedications, and rare live performances: The Bad Seedling  Juvenalia  Art School  Shivers & Nick the Stripper  Birthday Party  The Blue Box  Rowlandesque Teenage Saviour   Illuminations Prague Tribute Concert 2010 All My Trials  Deep In The Woods The Golden Age of Bloodshed  Trailer  


  • Rowland S. Howard


  • Lynn-Maree Milburn
  • Richard Lowenstein
  • No. discs 1
  • Running time 109 min
  • Audio format 5.1
  • Region 4
  • Format PAL
  • Color COLOUR
  • Language English
  • Catalogue No. DAVID2441
  • Aspect ratio 16:9
  • Subtitles -
  • M

Customers who bought this product also bought: