Widely recognised as Australia’s King of Pop throughout the 50s and 60s Johnny O’Keefe’s rise to fame is considered Aussie rock’n’roll legend. Adored by fans and nicknamed ‘The Wild One’, J.O.K released over fifty singles, 50 EPs and 100 albums in an astonishing twenty-year career.

Celebrating his many on-screen appearances from the days of Bandstand through to some of his final ever performances on The Don Lane Show, this rare collection of live recordings and insightful interviews captures the ever-energetic J.O.K in his entertaining element.

Featured performances include: Bandstand – ‘Mansion Over The Hilltop’, ‘Sun’s Gonna Shine Tomorrow’, ‘Good Luck Charm’, ‘Hey Girl’, ‘Don’t Be Cruel’, ‘You’ll Never Walk Alone’, ‘Mutual Admiration Society’ (with Brian Henderson), ‘Confessions of a Lonely Man’. The Don Lane Show – ‘She’s My Baby’, ‘So Tough’, ‘One of Those Nights’, ‘Rock and Roll Will Stand’, ‘Sing (And Tell The Blues So Long)’ (with Don Lane).  Also incorporating tributes from Midday with Kerri Anne Kennerley, featuring excerpts and performances from Terri Serio, as well as interviews with wife Marianne Renate, daughter Victoria O’Keefe and close friend Bruce Powell. Included as a special bonus is J.O.K’s Sunbury 73 performance, introduced by Paul Hogan featuring‘Johnny B. Goode’, ‘She’s My Baby’ and ‘Sing (And Tell The Blues So Long)’.

Extra Features

  • -


  • Johnny O'Keefe


  • Various
  • No. discs 1
  • Running time 94 min
  • Audio format 2.0 Dolby Digital
  • Region ALL
  • Format PAL
  • Color COLOUR & B&W
  • Language English
  • Catalogue No. DAVID3341
  • Aspect ratio 4:3
  • Subtitles None
  • PG

Customers who bought this product also bought: